Motivation after surgery...help!

Options
I'm fairly new to mfp and its been a while since I've used this site since I've had three surgeries since September. I lost just over 50 pounds prior to mfp then my health took a turn for the worse. I had my appendix removed in September, a small bowel resection in November and just this month I had an incisional hernia repair from an incision from previous surgery. I know the foods I should eat, temptation isnt much of an issue anymore. I havent been in the gym in a little while due to pain before and after surgery and this is where I need help. It has only been a week since my last surgery and I know I'm still healing so I dont want to hurt myself so I'm just walking as much as I can for now but I need some motivation to get myself back in the gym. I'm afraid I'm going to hurt myself and end up with more surgery or something. I'm scared. I need to lose more weight though. I still need to drop 140 pounds to be at my goal weight. I dont go back to my doctor for my follow up for a little bit so in the meantime I'm trying to get a good idea of when to go back to the gym, what to start out with..just cardio?

Any suggestions/motivation for me?

Replies

• aimeemusic
    aimeemusic Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    I had my appendix removed about 5 weeks ago and honestly the best thing is to heal for at least 4-6 weeks before you even start. I would watch your calories intake for the next few weeks aiming for 1200-1500. You will start to lose weight just by doing this.

I would suggest walking. Try walking about 5 minutes twice a day, 7 days a week (at a very very very slow pace). Every 3 days add 5 minutes to each sessions (again VERY slow).

Work it up until you feel you are walking at a normal pace again (probably aftter 4-5 weeks after surgery).