school tells mom that childs lunch is unhealthy and send bil

Options

Replies

• acasey0123
    acasey0123 Posts: 640 Member
    Options
    Im a student teacher right now and im at a school that deals with poverty and many of the meals are free or reduced but breakfast is free for all and they sometimes serve pizza for breakfast which of course isnt healthy so I wanna know what they serve for lunch at that school because that lunch was pretty healthy for the most part
  • pucenavel
    pucenavel Posts: 972 Member
    Options
    Does the school have rules regarding lunch?

My child went to a school that did. And we followed the rules. That's what rules are.

I seriously doubt this was a public school (the one we went to was private), and the article doesn't specify the school or whether or not it had published rules.

Until I have more facts, I will hold my judgement.
  • becoming_a_new_me
    becoming_a_new_me Posts: 1,860 Member
    Options
    I saw this and was like WTF!!??? My daughter's school serves things like chicken nuggets, french fries, corn, and applesauce. Like that is better than what this kid got? My daughter takes lunch several days a week because the lunch will be almost 100% carb-based and she would rather have a healthier option.
  • LaurasClimb
    LaurasClimb Posts: 211 Member
    Options
    "a lunch inspector at the school told the girl she couldn’t eat her turkey sandwich, banana, potato chips and apple juice. Instead, providing the girl with a USDA-approved lunch with the following guidelines: one serving of meat, one serving of grains, and two servings of fruit or vegetables."

Ummm...They served her:
    1 meat (mom provided Turkey)
    1 grains (mom provided bread)
    2 fruit an/or vegetables (mom provided a banana and apple juice)

I think I would have to tell the school district exactly where they could stick their bill! Mom provided her daughter with exactly the same food components as the school.