Strength-building at home?

Options
I had a pretty bad bout of stomach flu back in May of last year, and I still haven't gained much weight back. I eat whenever I'm hungry, but I'm still down at a little under 95 lbs (makes me wonder if my stomach capacity shrank...)
I just visited my ob-gyn, and she suggested building some muscle rather than fat by going to the gym and eating more, but healthy stuff with protein.
As a grad student, I don't really have much time or money for the gym thing. I'm starting some strength building stuff around the house like plank pose and lunges. Does anyone have other suggestions for strength/muscle-building exercises I can do at home with water bottles or just my own body weight?

Replies

• kermiehiho
    kermiehiho Posts: 193 Member
    Options
    I had a pretty bad bout of stomach flu back in May of last year, and I still haven't gained much weight back. I eat whenever I'm hungry, but I'm still down at a little under 95 lbs (makes me wonder if my stomach capacity shrank...)
    I just visited my ob-gyn, and she suggested building some muscle rather than fat by going to the gym and eating more, but healthy stuff with protein.
    As a grad student, I don't really have much time or money for the gym thing. I'm starting some strength building stuff around the house like plank pose and lunges. Does anyone have other suggestions for strength/muscle-building exercises I can do at home with water bottles or just my own body weight?
  • ivykivy
    ivykivy Posts: 2,970 Member
    Options
    Try bodybuilding.com and youtube for videos showing proper technique. Check the library for DVD. Can you not use the gym at your school? You may can some of the coaches or other student to assist you in their down time.
  • hiddensecant
    hiddensecant Posts: 2,446 Member
    Options
    Exercisetv.com will also have some workouts. And if you have cable, try on-demand.
  • Stephomie
    Stephomie Posts: 89 Member
    Options