Why are you / Why were you fat?

Options

Replies

• curvatrino
    curvatrino Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    4 Mars bars for £1, most days when I was a student got me all the way up to 224lbs at age 21. 6 long years later I'm 161lbs.

Lots of stuff happened in between. but that's the long and short of it.

Damn Mars Bars. I can't even look at them now. I still miss them!

:)
  • montana_girl
    montana_girl Posts: 1,403 Member
    Options
    I think for me it started with lack of parental supervision with my meals (both of parents worked and meals cooked and eaten as a family were few and far between), but that turned into bad habits, which caused me to gain. Once I was "fatter" than my peers, I was teased and ridiculed, which lead to low self esteem and emotional eating. That's something that has taken me a long, long time to overcome and is reason it took me 6 years to 100 pounds. I kept having to battle those feelings and bad habits.

I do better now, but I still have my days of making bad choices and eating because of emotions and not hunger. I suspect it's something I will deal with for the rest of my life...
  • slnewberry
    Options
    I think a lot of my problems did start with my father who constantly harassed me about my weight as a teen. I was maybe 15 lbs heavier than the others and he was very insulting about it. I lost the weight after I left home and entered the Army but when I had my children, I had medical problems and ended up on bed rest. Upset and bored, I turned to food and put on more weigh than I should have. Over the years,m I have tried diets but none have been too successful. 10 years ago, I destroyed my knee and have battled through multiple surgeries and trying to control my weight but it has steadily increased. I dropped 75 lbs prior to my last surgery but after 6 weeks immobilized and then very limited movement for the next 5 months, I put half of it back on.