Having loads of trouble- please advise.

Hello everyone, (I apologize in advance for my lack of brevity)

I am having the hardest time losing even a single pound.

I have been using MFP for almost two months now and I've gained 3 pounds, but lost three inches around my waist (yay muscles?) I weigh a whopping 187 pounds on a 5'4" body, but I wear a size 12, so I personally don't think I look that big, merely chubby. However I'd like to have a much lower BMI (around 25). My goal is based on the weight I was when I was in the Navy. I don't look all that much different from then, but I feel weaker so I think the muscle is now fat. I gained about 30 pounds after I injured my knee in 2010 and was discharged due to the severity of the injury.

I eat more than 1200 calories per day but usually wind up with quite a deficit. I have an active job and walk to work (~30 minutes a day) in addition to other exercise. Due to the knee injury I can't run anymore, but I have done dance classes, airwalk training, hiking, weights and other upper body stuff, and I walk everywhere (I do not drive, at all.)

I also eat a wide range of food, pretty balanced: no processed foods unless I'm in a bind, veggies/fruit every day, enough protein to support muscle growth, organic food, fresh food, no soda (I only drink water, unless I'm out with the girls), and I take a multivitamin at least 4 times a week (sometimes I forget to record that on MFP though.) I do have a weakness for ice cream, but I've always limited it to only a couple times a month, even in the summer.

Based on my day, I burn about 2200 calories without doing anything out of the usual.

Due to my inability to lose any weight I've been concerned that it's one of three things:

1) I am inadvertently in starvation mode (even though I honestly am not hungry at all, and it would suck to have to eat more food for no reason.)

2) There is something wrong with my thyroid or something else biologically is preventing me from losing.