Help i have lost my motivation

Options
I just cant get back on track with regards to exercise and eating healthy. My marriage broke up 6 weeks ago. The first few weeks I couldnt eat at all and lost 7lbs in just under 2 wks. Now i have went the opposite way and am just comfort eating. I still cant eat proper meals so I am snacking all day long on chocolate, crisps, and generally rubbish. I have gained the 7lbs again. Problem is I just cant get myself motivated. Every morning I wake up and say that Im going to start today and get back to my exercise but by lunch time I have went of the rails again. I just dont seem to enjoy the exercise at the minute either. If i keepthis up I am gonna gain a lot of weight again. Wot can I do to get my mojo back.

Replies

• drmattski
    drmattski Posts: 124 Member
    Options
    Sorry to hear about the break-up. Been there - not easy. Don't be too hard on yourself - it is super stressful time! Find something you love to do (I started playing volleyball for the social aspect). Eventually I got back into the solo exercise stuff as well, but because I wanted to, not because I had to. Also, try to find workout buddies - people to keep you honest and drag you kicking and screaming to the gym (that is exercise in itself ;-)

My mom used to tell me "This too shall pass" and i never realized how sage that advice was until I was older. Give your self some time, do positive, fun things for yourself that take you away from food. You'll get there. You can also get support from your MFP friends :-)

Matt
  • jameslucy
    jameslucy Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    Thanks 4 the advice.
  • chrishgt4
    chrishgt4 Posts: 1,222 Member
    Options
    I agree with Matt above, when he says about finding something to do. Especially if that is some form of exercise it can really help.

In one aspect it takes your mind off of it, but in another, it might help to regulate your eating.