My EPIC NSV!

Options
knittnponder
knittnponder Posts: 1,954 Member
This may not thrill all of you but I'm so happy I'm sharing with the class anyway!

I've been doing Taekwondo for about three years. When I started I developed shin splints and my knees have always been tweaky so for the past three years I have wrapped my shins in ace bandages and worn knee braces on both knees. My hope was that over time they would strengthen and I would grow out of the need for the wraps. It just didn't happen.

About a year ago I decided to do P90X at home in addition to the TKD because I figured pushing myself would make me stronger, which would make my TKD better. I was right and it did. I got MUCH better at it! But I still needed those darn braces and wraps. Jumping kicks would always, ALWAYS make my shins yell at me. And getting very deep into my stances was always difficult on my knees. I would have to be very careful about how I was standing and even with that and the braces every now and then a knee would get a twinge that caused me to immediately stop whatever I was doing out of fear of something worse happening. And often they would ache during the day when I wasn't exercising.

But tonight I DID THE ENTIRE CLASS WITH NO WRAPS AND NO BRACES AND FELT NO PAIN! NO TWINGES! NO WEIRDNESS OR CATCHING!!! My knees felt strong and sturdy all through class, even with pivots!

What happened? I've been doing New Rules of Lifting for Women for several weeks (just started stage two yesterday). Those squats, lunges and dead lifts have made my legs (and more importantly the muscles surrounding my knees) rock solid and strong! I can't tell you how excited I am by this! I had pretty much given up on ever seeing improvement, let alone being pain free!