How long has it taken you to lose weight?

Options
Just for inspiration, I'd like to get an idea of how long it took for most of you to lose the weight of your goal. I just turned 50, got laid off from my job, and am using this time to focus on losing the extra 50 lbs. I've been carrying. I'm a yo-yo dieter from the past; I can lose weight on diet fads easily but then I gain back all the weight. I decided to do it the right way by counting calories, eating healthy foods (not drinking my meals!), and exercising. I've been measuring everything I eat and making sure I exercise at least 6 times a week. I've been sitting on my butt for the past 20 years, so this is very new for me. I'm focused, excited, but it's been very slow for me. I thought I would easily lose 2 lbs. per week, but it doesn't seem to be the case. Anyway, I just wanted to hear from you so that I know what to expect, what is reality, and to find out if what I'm experiencing is normal. I know I need to keep on keepin' on, and I plan to do so for my health. Thanks!

Replies

• fteale
    fteale Posts: 5,310 Member
    Options
    Difficult to put a time scale on it. But roughly, it took me 11 months from when I started running to reach my goal, but I didn't start logging my food and actually TRYING to lose weight for another 5 months after I started exercising, so I suppose it was properly 6 months, but 11 months from my highest weight and most unfit.

Edited to add, my highest weight was 162 lbs, I am now 123 or thereabouts.
  • Fred4point0
    Fred4point0 Posts: 160 Member
    Options