Ways to lower blood pressure

Options
sean23
sean23 Posts: 34 Member
Hi. I am a 35 year old firefighter. I am very active. I work out a lot and I am on the go basically until I go to bed at night. I have a wife and two kids so I keep busy. I don't drink or smoke and get plenty of sleep. The last few years at our work physicals I have noticed my blood pressure going up. I don't know if it is job related even though I dont feel stressed or just because I am getting older and always on the go. I went to the doctor to ask if I should be concerned and they say I am not really high enough to worry about yet. My blood pressure is anywhere from 130/80 and sometimes even low 140/82 or so. I have heard the bottom number is most important but what can I do to help lower this. I have been told to watch my sodium. I do eat out about 5 times a week I know I have higher sodium but because Im so active I burn off what I eat to maintain my weight. I only drink about 20 ounces of pop a day and drink average amount of water. I am open to any suggestions on what to do, if sodium is the only answer what are some good low sodium foods?

Replies

• sean23
    Options