Eating separately...

Options
2»

Replies

• hbunting86
    hbunting86 Posts: 952 Member
    Options
    Haha I'd have a little experiment...

Eat separately for a while - but make a pact to keep your food receipts.

Then at the end of the month tell him you want the difference to go and buy yourself something nice. Hopefully then he'll see how much money he's needlessly wasting on groceries, and could buy other things instead.

But, as others have said long term I'd be of the 'take it or leave it' camp. It's just not feasible, not to mention exhausting and expensive to come up with a literally different meal idea for every day of the month. Herbs and spices are cheap and make the world of difference to basic ingredients - trust me, I'm a student so I HAVE to get creative on the cheap otherwise I'd literally go insane.

Also sure butter and cheese and cream make things taste nice... but they're very heavy and not to mention calorific. Granted, we all need fats but surely HIS tastebuds get bored with tasting things like that all of the time. Maybe reassure him that you're not going to make him eat salad every night...

Alternatively you could let him do the shopping/cooking for a month (and keep the receipts) and then you do the shopping/cooking for a month (also keep receipts) - see how that works out..
  • chelsearae85
    Options
    ^the experiment idea for a week or 2 and make note of what he eats so there is no cheating. if you do it let us know how it works out
  • Melysa1988
    Melysa1988 Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    Trust me i know what your going through. Trying to make everyone happy with dinner is a challenge.
    Please try this!

http://www.thesneakychef.com/free_recipe_doctors_choice_chili.php
  • DiamondEyes_x
    DiamondEyes_x Posts: 120 Member
    Options
    You just buy your own food and cook for yourself, he'll soon realise he's being silly :)
  • BazAbroad
    BazAbroad Posts: 248
    Options