Hungry before bed. What can I eat? Can I eat?

Options
13»

Replies

• Paulette61
    Options
    HI there, well one thing is that your working out in the evening, trying having a protein shake after your workout. That should satisfy you till morning.
  • darlilama
    darlilama Posts: 794 Member
    Options
    I am new to this what is a macro?

Macro nutrients… Fat, Protein, Carbs and their subsequent breakdowns (e.g. fats - saturated vs mono, carbs - fiber vs sugar, etc.)
    If you want to eat nutritiously, you need to not only watch your calorie intake, but what those calories are made up of and in what ratios. You are allowed to track 6 total in your food diary… calories being required, so really 5 other aspects of your macro nutrients. My opinion is that at least to start with you track your Total Fat, Saturated Fat, Protein, Total Carbs, and Fiber. So try to not only hit your daily caloric goal, but also come close to the macro-nutrient goals as well.

If you don't like the ratios that MFP gives you, you can set your own. For example, I've switched to maintenance and I want to concentrate on doing more lifting, so I decreased my carb goal by 5% and upped my protein by 5%. Also, because cardiovascular disease runs in my family, I decreased the total fats by 5% and moved that 5% to my protein as well. So, my macro goals are 50% carbs, 25% proteins, and 25% fats. So, 50% of my calories should be Carbohydrates, 25% should be protein, etc.

To get an idea of how macros impact calories, 1 gram of fat = 9 calories, 1 gram of protein or carbohydrates = 4 calories.

Best of luck!!
  • ConnieB1979
    ConnieB1979 Posts: 239 Member
    Options
    If you were getting plenty to eat without your exercise calories, you wouldn't be hungry at bedtime. :wink:

That said, I like a glass of chocolate milk before bed.
    Perfect point right here!

I do this too!!!!
  • creative1981
    creative1981 Posts: 182 Member
    Options