Help! .. I need some advice!!

Options
I'll try to make this as brief as possible.

I have been eating 1250 calories per day. However, my BMR is approx 1500-1700 depending on how active I am that day. I recently did some researched and learned about BMR (Basal Metabolic Rate: how many calories your body need each day depending on your exercise level.)

So my question is... should I be eating a min of 1500 calories a day?

Also, I was confused when I learned that I should eat the calories I burn when I workout. (Is this true?) I thought the point of working out was to burn calories...not burn them, and then consume them.

My biggest worry/fear is that once I go to maintain my weight I will gain it all back... because I have noticed when I eat something I shouldn't ex: a slice of pizza... I gain more weigt than I should from that one slice. So this is why I fear I may be doing something wrong?

Any help/advice would be very much appriciated. This is my first time staying with my diet and actually working out and putting in 100% to lose weight and I have learned I have a lot to learn and losing weight is more than just eating less and working out!!

I started dieting and working out Feb 16th 2012 and have lost 18 lbs. I have lost a total of 34 pounds since January. I am 5'9" and my current weight is 225.

Replies

• MammaC66
    MammaC66 Posts: 132 Member
    Options
    There seems to be a lot of controversy on this subject. It sounds like you are doing great doing what you are doing. If you are losing weight and feeling good, why change it? BTW I love your picture!
  • mallory3411
    mallory3411 Posts: 839 Member
    Options
    You probably should be eating more. If you eat too little for too long your metabolism will slow as it will realize it doesn't need those extra calories.