How often do you go over

Options
Just wondering. I am at 1200 calories and it is REALLY hard to stay under... That is 400calories a meal if I don't have snacks. I have been doing pretty good and am under most days but some days it is hard. Do you think it evens out or do you have to stay under almost all the time?

Also any suggestions on quick, easy and filling low calorie meals would be great. I am a nurse and often have very little time to eat and with a busy 10 year old I often have to eat on the go.

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• agranados87
    agranados87 Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    I think you should bump up your calories. Instead of trying to lose 1 lb a week by eating 1200 cals a day, try to lose .5 lb a week which will bump your intake up. MFP set me at 1200 cals a day because I wanted to lose 1 lb a week, but it wasn't enough..I was hungry and kept going over. I'm not set to lose .5 lb a week and I get just under 1500 cals a day. It's not healthy to only eat 1200 cals a day, especially considering you're a nurse and probably pretty active. Hope this helps!
  • Amy_Lee_2012
    Amy_Lee_2012 Posts: 156 Member
    Options
    I eat pretty much the same thing everyday (aside from special occasions), with very little variation, and am always under 1200 calories- this is even when I have a candy bar or some other small treat, which I do at least once a week.

I eat a lot of boneless skinless chicken breasts and vegetables, plus snack on fruit. I also drink at least 8-10 glasses of water a day.
    I find this works well for me.
  • AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options
    I'm set at 1710 a day & to lose 1/2lb a week, and I go over a couple of times a week. I always eat back some if not all of my exercise calories too.
  • Il_DaniD_lI
    Il_DaniD_lI Posts: 1,593 Member
    Options
    Today is my first time ever going over.
  • AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options