Tips for gaining weight?

Options
I know this isn't a popular problem and I'm probably setting myself up for some nasty responses, but I was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to gain weight. I've been steadily losing weight for the last year or so and, while it was great at first, I'm now about 5 lbs underweight. Nothing's wrong with me, medically speaking. One of my meds has appetite suppression as a side effect. I really don't feel hungry most of the time and, when I do eat, can only eat small amounts of food in one sitting. Add that to the fact that I'm lactose intolerant and bike at least a mile every day to get to and from school and you wind up with a girl who can't keep any weight on.

Does anyone have any ideas of what I could do to gain weight? I mean, obviously, I need to eat more. But suggestions of what I should eat would be much appreciated. As I am a college student, money is an issue. I can't live on slimfast bars and protein shakes, they're just too expensive.

Replies

• JayBeeGo
    JayBeeGo Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    Although at the other end of the age spectrum I share your problem in part ie in terms of putting on weight.

I'm coming to the perhaps obvious conclusion that if you eat healthy foods it seems inevitably harder to put weight on although I appreciate you have other issues going on.

As a novice in good nutrition I hesitate to give much in the way of advice but at worst someone more knowledgeable may comment on my thoughts and help both of us in the process.

What could help is nutrient dense foods which means that if you don't eat as much as you prefer you are at least keeping the intake of nutrients up. Sadly that may not be the least expensive option.

I'm a convert to Extra Virgin Olive Oil and whilst you certainly don't want to overdo it, your calorie intake will certainly rise and many argue EVOO is very beneficial to good health being predominately 'good' fat and I believe is appropriate for lactose intolerance.