First time in the weight room...

Options
I've been exercising regularly (5 times a week, usually) for about the last two months, but it's all been cardio--elliptical and stationary bike mostly. I've been putting off strength training even though I know I need to add this into my fitness program. Anyway, I decided to bit the bullet this morning and remembered that there's a women's only room at my gym so my humiliation wouldn't be public. However, I'm so overwhelmed I don't know what I should and shouldn't be doing--I used all the machines and have logged my workout (except something called the Vertical Press which doesn't seem to come up on the list here) but I'd really welcome any advice about getting started with weights. There's a variety of machines, and some free weights too. Should I be doing low weights, high reps, or high weights and low reps? And just what constitutes high/low reps anyway? I am confused!

Replies

• KPainter70
    KPainter70 Posts: 152
    Options
    Check out a book like New Rules of Lifting For Women. That'll give you a great starting point. Otherwise, have one of the gym's trainers give you a program in which you lift as heavy as you can for low reps.
  • Stefanie7125
    Stefanie7125 Posts: 462 Member
    Options
    Check out a book like New Rules of Lifting For Women. That'll give you a great starting point. Otherwise, have one of the gym's trainers give you a program in which you lift as heavy as you can for low reps.

^^this. The weight room is a scary place, I am right there with you on that! You are fortunate that your gym has a separate area. I just got my copy of this book and plan to be in the gym next week (once I finish it)! Otherwise someone that works there should GLADLY show you the ropes. Good luck and don't back down!
  • mbts08
    mbts08 Posts: 284 Member
    Options

I second this!!! NROLF4 is awesome, currently on stage 2. I hired a PT for two sessions for good form, definitely worth it.
  • Jules2Be