To sweat or not to sweat?

soon2bemrsott
soon2bemrsott Posts: 60
edited September 19 in Health and Weight Loss
So, I have been wondering, do you lose more when you sweat more? For example, I have been walking for a couple of months, and now that the weather is getting warmer, I notice I am sweating more on these walks. Now I don't have an HRM or any other way to determine exactly how many calories I am burning, but is there like a general rule for this? I know that I am not walking any faster or any further, so it is def just the heat...

Replies

• SarahNicole317
    SarahNicole317 Posts: 302 Member
    Chances are, you aren't burning any more calories unless your heart rate is accelerated due to the heat. Sweating is merely your body's cooling system and increases the burn rate by a very minute percentage.
  • Yeah, I didn't think so, but I wasn't sure. I keep thinking about like, high school wrestling when the kids gotta drop pounds, so they run around in trash bags and stuff. I didn't know if that was to lose more weight cause they are sweating more, or what.
    Thanks!!
  • fitnessperfection
    fitnessperfection Posts: 97 Member
    snf_05 is right. The extra calorie burn from your body attmepting to regulate your temp is minimal. But your body does burn calories in regulating your body temperature...just not as many as we would like to believe.
  • fitnessperfection
    fitnessperfection Posts: 97 Member
    Yeah, I didn't think so, but I wasn't sure. I keep thinking about like, high school wrestling when the kids gotta drop pounds, so they run around in trash bags and stuff. I didn't know if that was to lose more weight cause they are sweating more, or what.
    Thanks!!

He-hee! :laugh: Running around in trash bags causes you to lose water that you might be retaining. It is not healthy to do this...it is a temporary water loss that some see as weight loss. It is dangerous.