I can't exercise..?!

Options
Hello all, I am new to MFP and am very excited about what I have seen so far.

I am a very young adult (teen) who is around 40lbs overweight. I am beginning to cut back my calorie intake to 600-800 per day (I have hypothyroidism and a metabolic syndrome, so my intake has to be much less) and I can't exercise. I'm not healthy, I have several severe medical issues...fibromyalgia, chiari malformation, syringomeylia, etc - there's a laundry list. ANY sort of physical excursion kills me physically.

I wish I could intake more calories and burn them by exercising, but I can't at this stage in my life.
Does anyone have any advice for me? Is my current calorie intake too risky? I've tried 1500 calories for a while but I lost nothing - in fact, I think I gained 5-10 lbs by doing so. I can't exercise, so I don't see any other way but to drastically cut off my calorie intake. I am trying to carefully monitor what I eat...70% of my diet is veggies, fruits and protein.

Am I being too risky? Anyone have any advice?

Confused,
Rachael

P.S. I hope I posted this in the right area.

Replies

• MacMadame
    MacMadame Posts: 1,893 Member
    Options
    If you are going to go below 1200, you should be doing it under a doctor's supervision. Otherwise you risk malnutrition. In particular, because you are still growing, you need to be careful about dieting. You don't want to stunt your growth!
  • hiddensecant
    hiddensecant Posts: 2,446 Member
    Options
    You need to see a doctor and get recommendations based on your full list of medical conditions.
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    You need to see a doctor and get recommendations based on your full list of medical conditions.

I dont think you will get a better answer than this one

I would also hit the internet for some research from the actual sources of the information and not someone elses interpretation of the information like on these kinds of sites