45 and need to lose 10 lbs, which are apparently glued on

Options
I'm a 45 year old nurse, and had never a need to watch my weight until I hit 40. Years of eating what I want, when I want have caught up with me. I'm trying to lose 10 lbs before summer. Would love to add friends who are doing the same, Biggest diet obstacle??? Bingeing. I can do great all day and then at 9 pm if I start eating , I will not stop. Anyone else?

Replies

• vipergts223
    vipergts223 Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    Feel free to add me, I accept all requests. I'm online everyday!
  • mfpcopine
    mfpcopine Posts: 3,093 Member
    Options
    There's a thread on bingeing that you might look at. Quick suggestions: Throw out any food that's too tempting. Drink water or a low-calorie drink and make it special: Beautiful glass, garnish, etc.

It's great that you're acting now to get control of your weight. I know a lot of people who were thin until they hit middle-age and then when their calorie needs and activity levels changed they kept eating the same and they put on weight that they may never be able to take off.
  • terwhitcomb
    terwhitcomb Posts: 43 Member
    Options
    I know what you mean about being "glued" on - I hear you!! Please feel free to add me as a friend :)
  • nurse1066
    Options
    I am also 45 and a nurse. I need to lose at least 50. I have lost 14 but i flipflop between 14 and 12. I binge eat. Like yesterday I ate
    everything in site then it makes me so depressed and mad at myself that I don't want to do anything. I have good intensions of walking after work, but rarelydo
  • BeeSunny
    BeeSunny Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    I am also 45 and a nurse. I need to lose at least 50. I have lost 14 but i flipflop between 14 and 12. I binge eat. Like yesterday I ate
    everything in site then it makes me so depressed and mad at myself that I don't want to do anything. I have good intensions of walking after work, but rarelydo