Turkey breast???

Options
I had 4 ounces of turkey breast yesterday, and when I logged it in the system, it came up over 1,100 mg of sodium. Is this true? That seems very high to me, being almost 10 mg to every calorie.

Replies

• Shanta1983
    Shanta1983 Posts: 1,228 Member
    Options
    Wow it really depend on rather you ate it with or without skin. Im not an expert but I do know that the skin on any meat carries the most sodium and fat.. Idk just a thought
  • kimdr
    kimdr Posts: 12
    Options
    They could be referring to actual turkey "Lunchmeat". Is that what you had?
  • gemiwing
    gemiwing Posts: 1,525 Member
    Options
    I'm having a very hard time finding turkey, presliced, that has low sodium. I'm thinking about buying a turkey, cooking it, giving away the dark parts to neighbors and slicing it myself. Plus then I know what I'm eating- TURKEY lol

A lot of sliced meats have added sodium- it truly is shocking how much junk is added to our food to 'improve' it.
  • pdj1220
    pdj1220 Posts: 175
    Options
    Thanks for the responses. This was a plain Jenni-O turkey breast, sliced at the deli. No skin included. It was actually higher than Oscar Meyer lunch meat slices.
  • gemiwing
    Options
    I think Hormel has a line of preservative-free turkey slices that are lower in sodium. I've had the roast beef and it was good, not sure if I've seen the turkey ones or not.

Hope someone can chime in and enlighten us lol
  • TCASMEY
    TCASMEY Posts: 1,405 Member
    Options
    Hey gemiwing how buying just a turkey breast and cooking it. I do this for my family quite often as a whole turkey is too much and we all prefer white meat anyway.
  • pdj1220
    pdj1220 Posts: 175
    Options
    Hi TCASMEY,
    That seems to be the problem. I just entered roasted turkey breast, and the 284 mg sodium per ounce is what came up. Chicken breast is no where near this, and that confuses me.
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options