Do you burn calories if it is easy?

Options
RieBerg
RieBerg Posts: 261 Member
I am doing the 30 day shred. I have already completed it once in January, but have bounced back so I am doing it again. After a few days of getting back into it, the workout seems a lot easier. Does that mean I am not burning as many calories as I was when it was hard? My weight has not changed.

Replies

• shovav91
    shovav91 Posts: 2,335 Member
    Options
    You're obviously burning more calories than you would just sitting around, but if your body has adjusted to the exercise you probably aren't burning as many.
  • kneeki
    kneeki Posts: 347 Member
    Options
    Perhaps looking into the reasons you bounced back would help you maintain the lifestyle?

But to answer your question: I think that yeah, if it doesn't take much effort, you may not be burning as much fuel to accomplish the deed.
  • Meg_78
    Meg_78 Posts: 998 Member
    Options
    FROM MY EXPERIENCE (I have very little knowledge in this area!!!) but I found that yes, according to my HRM as the work outs got easier to do physically (Ie as I got fitter and better at doing them), the less I was burning. So you have a couple of options,1, double up the program (repeat the level maybe or do level 1 & 2 or 2 & 3 back to back, 2 skip up to a later level of the program right away (if level 1 is too easy, just skip it and start at 2 for example), and/or, up the weights you are using, these things made me burn more and push a little harder, however if you are at the highest level with heavier wights, than I probably recommend you change it up for something else to get you body a bit confused again and get it working harder. That would be what I would do. Some of her other vids are pretty good too (Killer buns and thighs, 6 week 6 pack, and they are more advanced too)

Meg
  • lizard053
    lizard053 Posts: 2,344 Member
    Options