BMR confusion, help?

Options
So I know that in order to keep my body in working order I need to at least eat my BMR, and I am cool with that. I am not good at starving myself at ALL so I would much rather do something good for me and easier for me.

On that note, I have used several online calculators to figure out what my BMR is and all I am wondering is how accurate are these things? It seems like someone's BMR is more personal then age, weight, and height. Like some people (not me!) have the metabolism of hummingbirds and some people have very slow digestive systems etc...

Anyone else ever wondered about this or have any knowledge on the subject? Thanks!

Replies

• mrobinson0805
    Options
    I'm not sure what websites you've calculated it on, but try this site. www.fat2fitradio.com/tools/bmr/
  • piscula
    piscula Posts: 17
    Options
    Thats actually very interesting, that was ont one of the sites I had been on.
  • gettingthinandfit
    Options
    so is the BMR net calories or just ones consumed?
  • 57scoutmaster
    Options
  • cinsuccess
    cinsuccess Posts: 333 Member
    Options
    I know exactly what you mean. There are a lot of factors that can contribute to an accurate BMR. I've tried ALL of the online calculators that have been suggested on the forums here and got so many different results. Finally, I decided to get it measured by a professional. I was fortunate to find a weight loss clinic with a scale that measures BMR as well as body fat % and body composition (it has sensors for the feet and hands to measure more accurately). It was a big help because they told me that my BMR is around 1250 whereas the lowest number I got from ANY of the online calculators was 1440. That's a pretty big difference.

If you think that the calculations are off, see if there are any gyms or clinics in your area that can measure it for you. There are scales you can buy that do it too but they're really expensive.