My Story, Who Flipped the Switch?

Options
Hey guys, Steve here..

I wanted to tell my story and I think now is a great time!

I'm 22, almost 23. I'm a graduate student in PA medical studies in NY.

When I was just 17 I got a girl friend. I went from playing baseball competitively for most days of the week and weighing 180 lb to gaining over 30 pounds in less than 2 months. My liver enzymes went through the roof and all that jazz. Well my enzymes went back to normal even though I didnt lose weight. I went back and forth with diets for short stints. I was 225 at my heaviest. Around 210-215 (38" pants, xl shirts) until last September (2011). I was in class learning about diabetes management with patients and counseling them when I got struck so damn hard by this inner feeling of self-disappointment. I didnt want to be the provider telling the patient to exercise and lose weight if I was this fat slob! When I got out of class I promised myself I was going to change my life and I immediately signed up for a gym nearby. I went to that gym my very first night. Luckily, since I used to be an athlete, my body reacted well to a new life style and my knowledge of human physiology and nutrition made dieting more attainable. That first night I ran/walked 2 miles after lifted weights for 45 minutes! I learned about High intensity internal training and did that 6-7 days a week on the treadmill, 5 days a week I also did weights (a bit silly, I know). With a diet high in fiber, green-leafy veges lean protein and low fat/sugar (all about moderation!), I was able to drop weight realllly quickly. Also, I adopted whey protein (I use gold standard from optimum nutrition) after work outs. Also into vitamin supplements (magnesium, B complex!!, potassium, omega-3, flax oil, vitamin-c 1000 complex, vitamin d!!!, CoQ10).