My heart rate monitor experiment...

Options
I decided to wear my heart rate monitor (Polar FT4 with chest strap) for a full 24 hours to see how many calories I actually burn per day. It ended this morning at 3200 calories. I did NOT do any exercise during this time period. So this is normal daily activity. MFP calculates my normal daily activity as 2160. I have it set to sedentary since I have a desk job. I have been working out 6 days a week for the last 13 months. Including a mixture of cardio, weights and personal training 2X per week. I am currently 230 pounds and 5'3. I was not expecting such a big difference between the heart rate monitor and what MFP calculates. Any thoughts?

Replies

• smileyface45
    smileyface45 Posts: 146 Member
    Options
    I also have the Polor HRM and love it.... Everybody is differant,and I feel that MFP is not accurat as far as HR... How can they be? They have noway of knowing what your HR is... Stick with your HRM
  • steph1278
    steph1278 Posts: 483 Member
    Options
    I have heard that hrms aren't accurate for tracking daily activity, just exercise.
  • ChristyP0303
    ChristyP0303 Posts: 212 Member
    Options
    I have been stuck in a 5 month plateau. Its driving me nuts! I'm wondering if this could possibly be the reason...
  • ChristyP0303
    ChristyP0303 Posts: 212 Member
    Options
    I have heard that hrms aren't accurate for tracking daily activity, just exercise.

Ok, thanks! I'll do some research on that.
  • myfitnessnmhoy
    myfitnessnmhoy Posts: 2,105 Member
    Options