Do you eat your burned calories?

Options
I'm new to this.. and have heard many debates on if you should eat your burned calories or not.
(with a lot of talk about BMR and BMI and every other letter in the alphabet :smile: ....)

What do you do?

Replies

• carld256
    carld256 Posts: 855 Member
    Options
    I eat the calories MFP recommends, but don't eat back my exercise calories. I figure my exercise calories are probably less than I think, and my food calories are more than I think, so my deficit isn't as large as MFP shows.

I will eat a bit more if I've exercised a lot and my net calories is really low.
  • riadastfu
    riadastfu Posts: 69
    Options
    Nope.

Since I'm not convinced that the figures shown are 100% accurate, I err on the side of caution.
  • trimom10
    trimom10 Posts: 388 Member
    Options
    I have my activity setting at sedentary, since I have a desk job. That being said, I do workout every day and almost always eat back my exercise calories. I've lost consistently anywhere from 1 to 2 pounds per week.
  • HeidiHoMom
    HeidiHoMom Posts: 1,393 Member
    Options
    I eat my exercise calories. I have lost weight almost every week.
  • runnercheryl
    runnercheryl Posts: 1,314 Member
    Options
    Just posted this on another thread, but may as well copy it over:

I aim to eat back my exercise calories. However, just this week I've started running 5ks, and that's messed things up a little.

I burn too many calories on a run, now, to comfortably eat back.

The first time, I couldn't eat all those calories but was starving the next day (lack of calories caught up), so I just ate them back the day after. Yesterday, I was under again - today, I've not been any more hungry than usual so they're now lost calories as far as I'm concerned. I still have a nice, high intake so I'm not too bothered, but I'm buying some new things on my grocery shop next week in the hope that I can start eating back to where I'm supposed to be again.