Giving it up...

Options
Hi

I'll start by saying I really would appreciate no negative comments here... we all make mistakes, the point is trying not to make the same mistake twice!

Basically I live in NZ and have done for the past 16 or so months. I'm originally from the UK, had a pretty decent job but after losing my dad to cancer and nursing him for 18 months I was really physically, mentally and emotionally exhausted and needed to get away. Like as far away as possible to figure out what to do with my life. Fast forward 16 months and I'm doing my PhD in human health and nutrition psychology at a NZ Uni.

What I'm giving up is alcohol. I didn't realise how much of a crutch I've used it as over the past few years. I've realised it makes me down and miserable and that the answer is never at the bottom of the glass. I hit rock bottom lately and had a frank discussion with my housemates - my reliance on this hasn't been physical, but rather emotional as I've felt so lonely over here, being away from my family and my friendship group back home. You don't realise how important people are in your life until they're not there any more.

So... as of last week I've decided to be T-total. I've picked myself up off my *kitten*, got myself a car so that I can see some of this wonderful country and started to like myself a little more. I used to be really bubbly and funny, but over the past 6 months I've just got lower and lower and stopped caring for myself and my body the way it should be cared for. I should learn from my dads mistakes as he drank too much, lived too much of a fast lifestyle and ultimately paid the price not only with his own life - but also with part of mine, my mums and my sisters as we're left with a gaping hole.

So there... just a little bit about me and something to keep me motivated to live a better life.

Heather :)

Replies

• HeHealsMe
    HeHealsMe Posts: 179 Member
    Options
    Hi..I'm Nicolette
    Just read your post.
    Congrat's girl.