Foot pod vs GPS running watches suggestions needed.

lculian
lculian Posts: 313 Member
What type of pace/heart rate monitor watch do you have? Are foot pods or GPS watches more accurate?

I've been running for 18 months and feel like its time to step up my game. I'm hoping that these devices will help me train more affectively:) I want to monitor distance, pace and calorie burn if possible.

Are there any brands you would stay away from?

Replies

• seventhe
    seventhe Posts: 6 Member
    I have the Garmin FR60 pack (shown here: http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Fitness-Bundle-Includes-Monitor/dp/B001S2RCWS): it's a foot pod, a heart rate monitor strap, and the tracker watch.

I bought it because I run both on the road and on a treadmill and the footpod will work with both. I have GPS on my phone, with fancy running apps, if for whatever reason I want to track my run. I've found the footpod to be amazingly accurate in races; the only thing it can't do that a GPS watch can is track your elevation on a run (but it can do a treadmill, so consider that).

Having a HR monitor and a training watch (whatever kind you get) is an amazing way to step up your game. Being more aware of my pace and being able to program training plans got me through my first half marathon and improved my time immensely on other races!
  • ATLMel
    ATLMel Posts: 392 Member
    I love my Garmin FR110. It's wonderful.

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/p/product-reviews.html

Go here. This guy has reviewed all kinds of GPS watches. They are in-depth and awesome.
  • lculian
    I have the Garmin FR60 pack (shown here: http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Fitness-Bundle-Includes-Monitor/dp/B001S2RCWS): it's a foot pod, a heart rate monitor strap, and the tracker watch.