Make up for going over daily calories???

Options
I was wondering for people who have been doing this for awhile, if they are able to make up for going over daily calories by not eating your excercise calories the next day. For example...today was an off day where I was munching quite a bit and I went over by about 200 calories, but tomorrow I know I will work out and get an extra 300 or so calories. If I don't eat those extra calories does it sort of make up for the negative calories I had today? I'm coming from a Weight Watchers background where we could keep our activity points we earned and "save" them up to indulge whenever we needed to so that's where my thinking is. Just curious on anyone's thoughts on this.

Replies

• casanmiguel
    casanmiguel Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Great question! I have a WW background, too, and I'd love to know the answer or suggestions for your question!
  • wendyjo3
    wendyjo3 Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    I am no expert but i would say that is just fine. As another user pointed out in another post I read, our bodies do not reset each day, but rather, we are 24 hours a day, 7 days a week going. I'd think it would be fine within a few days. Also WW is built on a lot of time-tested research so if they allow it, by all means :)
  • sleepytexan
    sleepytexan Posts: 3,138 Member
    Options
    Sure -- you can manage your calories weekly if you like. However, I find it works best to reconcile within 24 hours. It's not the best idea to starve all week so you can load up on Saturday night -- your body tends to yo yo and actually gain a bit after every binge bc it's been used to fewer calories for the most part.

It is however, actually a good idea to eat a bit extra before your workout -- athletes always eat extra in the days before their event to store glycogen. That way they have plenty of energy to perform during the event.

blessings.
  • kiminikimkim
    kiminikimkim Posts: 746 Member
    Options