SUP- stand up paddle boarding... Info needed.

Options
I'm new to SUP. considering buying a board.
Found a used Yolo yak. Hybrid SUP kayak. For $250. New they are about $600

Does anyone out there SUP?
What info tips and suggestions can you share?

I'll be paddling mostly on lakes. Maybe a calm river. And hope to take it to the beach an or bay on calm waters.

I like the stability of recreational boards.
The shorter boards are harder for me to stand on

Thought the cheaper Yolo yak would be a great starting point.

What can y'all share?

Replies

• twinmom_112002
    twinmom_112002 Posts: 739 Member
    Options
    I am doing it as a form of cross training. Have you taken a class yet? They will help you with the stroke technique. My husband and I both found used boards online for $450 with paddle. Just takes a little craiglist stalking.

Board: Consider not only the length but the width. Both our boards are 31" across. The narrower, the less stable. We also figured out today that one of our boards is flat on top and the other is a little curved. The curved one was not good for me today because my vertigo was kicking up and it was less stable then the flat board. Make sure you can maneuver it in and out of your transport vehicle. The flat board is a beast for me to get into and out of the truck. We have a 12' and an 11'. The 12' cruises better but is hard to turn, the 11' is a little more work but turns easily.

Paddle: Make sure its the right size. It should come to your wrist when you arm is stretched above your head. Hold it the opposite way you think you should.

The stroke: You can make is an upper body work out by using your arms or a core work out by keeping your arms straight and using your waist to move the paddle. Paddle into the wind first so your return to shore has the wind at your back. Today it was gusting to 25mph and I was a giant sail. The trip out took twice as long as the trip in.