How long is too long to exercise? HELP!

TheWayIUsed2Be
TheWayIUsed2Be Posts: 70
edited September 19 in Health and Weight Loss
In the beginning I would go to the gym and catch my Life Time movie :laugh: and workout n the treadmill for 2 hours. it was so easy when I was watching tv and id burn 1200 calories if not more each workout. Recently iv heard moderation and that anything over an hour is not good. Has anyone talked to a trainer or a nutritionist that has clarified this? I did the 6 week body makeover a long time ago by Michael Thermond and i know it said no more than an hour and keep your heart rate at a certain level......any thoughts knowledge or advice appreciated GREATLY! :drinker:

Replies

• LuckyLeprechaun
    LuckyLeprechaun Posts: 6,296 Member
    I am no expert, but I know that some of the really healthiest people alive are marathoners, cyclists, triathaloners, the athletes who do endurance sports are the most rock-solid low body fat athletes around.

I don't think you are hurting anything if you briskly walk for a two hour movie- I think that is awesome!

I'd use a heart rate monitor to accurately know what you're burning, so you can adjust your intake appropriately, and go for it!

if your joints get sore, reduce it, but why restrict yourself to an hour of exercise if you feel good doing it?
  • LivyJo
    LivyJo Posts: 355 Member
    I have heard that anything over an hour will force your body to burn muscle, not fat. My body-building hubby always told me that. I think if you make sure that you have had some good protien before your workout, you should be ok, just dont over do it!
  • MacMadame
    MacMadame Posts: 1,893 Member
    Well, people take 15 hours to complete an Ironman. And live to tell about it. :laugh: