• Hiawassee88
    Hiawassee88 Posts: 35,754 Member
    tumblr_mv0ziwxu811stefago1_400.gif
  • Hiawassee88
    edited March 2023
  • snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member

When I was a young Interior Designer, one of the young women I worked with had a small sailboat on Lake Minnetonka and would take us sailing. This song was popular then. It always reminds me of those times. Young and free.
  • Hiawassee88
    edited March 2023
    @snowflake954 You know a thing or two about horses. 🐴

We both know, training a horse takes a practical application of grit and grace. Take a horse that does not want to leave the arena or the ranch. They may be reluctant to go for a ride into the forest or out into the country. You can't spur that horse into submission without negative consequences. There are only choices and consequences in this life.

It's the same with health and fitness. We can take away one negative thing at a time, very slowly, and gently add a positive thing in its' place. Grit and Grace. We work on one negative habit at a time and put something positive in its' place. If you're used to sitting on the couch at the speed of zero, when you come home from work, watching TV until bedtime, take away one hour at a time.

Use that time to find exercise you like. Take it all back outside. Go for a walk, breathe. Get some fresh air and blow the stinkin' thinkin' off. Poor health is so patently unfair. We need to look waaaay down the road and see where we are headed.

Horses and mules know when we're blowing smoke. They can tell the difference between truth and lies. Wildlife knows, too. They've developed a fear of humans for good reason. When you slowly take away a negative behavior or habit, we have to give ourselves some grace...it's just like horse training. Reward the horse, curry that mule.