Accurate-ness of calories on site.

Options
Do any of you wear a heart-monitor and log your calories on here also?

I find it weird, I also assumed that you burn about 100 calories per mile ran, but on here I put that I ran 40 min. with a 10min mile, equalling 4 miles and it gives me almost 700 calories! I estimated around 400 calories, thats a HUGE difference!

Any input?
I figure I burn a little extra because I do have a lot of muscle (I have been doing serious weight-lifting for almost 3 years) and I am very athletic (I've been running over 20 miles a week for the past 3 years also). And I'm only 20.

But 669 calories for a 40 min. run at 6mph ? Seems too high!

Replies

• Iceprincessk25
    Iceprincessk25 Posts: 1,888 Member
    Options
    Have you worn a HRM while you're running? That would be the only way to for sure find out how you are doing.

I find that the exercises on here are fairly close to what MFP says. Getting a HRM is the best money you can spend for sure. You don't have to spend a lot of money on it either. I got the reebok XT and it was only $39. Works perfectly and has a strap so it's more accurate.
  • omid990
    omid990 Posts: 785 Member
    Options
    i would definitely recommend a heart rate monitor. i found that the numbers the site gave me were much higher than i was actually burning. i weight about 140, 5'5'', pretty muscular, and i burn less than 300 calories for every 30 min i run at 6 miles per hour.
  • kankan213
    kankan213 Posts: 105
    Options
    Hmm I'm about 140 and 5'8" and I'm assuming I probably burn less. Dang! No wonder I'm not losing weight lol
  • Iceprincessk25
    Iceprincessk25 Posts: 1,888 Member
    Options
    I actually found out that I was burning more than what the machines said so that is also an option. Maybe you're not eating enough.
  • omid990
    omid990 Posts: 785 Member
    Options