Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

FRUSTRATED :/

I'm still relatively new to MFP - been on here for just over a month. The food log (and phone app) have made me aware of what I was putting in my mouth for the first time in my life. I know.....at 41, I probably should have paid attention earlier....but it's a start. For that first month, things were rocking right along. I lost 12 lbs - averaging about 2-3 lbs a week. Suddenly, things have come to a SCREECHING halt. 8 days and no movement whatsoever. MFP did prompt me to recalculate daily calorie goal when I lost the first 10 - so now goal is 1220 a day. (down just slightly from 1280). I see the notes on here about eating more calories, but haven't been able to wrap my head around that when the 1220-1280 goal was working so well at the start. I'm working through some knee problems due to a fall - but getting back into walking and golf (finally). Just frustrated and venting right now....

Replies

• phinphanbill26
    phinphanbill26 Posts: 574 Member
    2-3 pounds per week is a lot of weight loss. You want to average about a pound per week. You are correct, you probably need to increase the caloric intake - just be smart about where you are pulling those extra calories from.
  • kimpossible471
    kimpossible471 Posts: 268 Member
    Thanks. I guess I didn't realize how wide of a range of calorie intake would still generate weight loss. Changing the goal on here from 2lbs a week to 1lb a week is a 300 calorie swing in recommendation. For the first month, I tried to stick to the recommendation like it was carved in stone, and stressed out if I was off by 100cal. I don't know why I find this so confusing :)
  • iWaffle
    iWaffle Posts: 2,208 Member