Personal Responsibility

Options
I've used this term so many times when complaining about someone or something else. I read a blog today that got me to thinking about MY personal responsibility to MYSELF.

The basic line of thought was that the writer was tired of hearing people make excuses and then whining and promising they would do better, without achieving results.

Pretty much EXACTLY what I've been doing for the last 2 months. Sheesh, I felt like he was writing about me.... like he had been watching ME as I made my really bad choices and then made excuses for them.

No, I can NOT blame my husband. Nope, not the stress from my job, or my kids, or the bills or the economy or any other damned thing.

I must accept PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY for my actions, and my results.

I am the one who has been putting the CRAP in my mouth, sitting on my butt, not getting enough sleep and then dreading what the scale has to say.

The blog writer did give me hope as he pointed out that I am the one in control of my choices by saying that it is never too late to start, and if I have to start over, that's ok too. Just as long as I start.

Replies

• Jenni268
    Jenni268 Posts: 202 Member
    Options
    Great attitude! I really had to think about things this when I was experiencing an eight month long "plateau". It's in quotations because I wasn't suffering from an actual plateau but from bad eating and no exercise. Sure, I didn't gain weight (which is definitely a plus) but I wasn't losing either, and I was wrongfully blaming that plateau phenomenon that gets thrown around so often.

In fact, it took my husband to tell me, "Stop complaining if you're not going to do anything about it" to even get me to START on this lifestyle-change journey.

Keep up the good attitude, continue to make changes and accept responsibility and I am sure you will succeed!!! :flowerforyou:
  • autumnk921
    autumnk921 Posts: 1,376 Member
    Options