Is too much protein bad

Options
Hi,
I am new to the program and I am finding that sometimes I am over for protein. Is this a bad thing?

Replies

• Glucocorticoid
    Glucocorticoid Posts: 867 Member
    Options
    Unless you have kidney issues, no. Aim for at least 1g/lb, particularly if you are in a deficit and/or lifting weights.
  • Emv79
    Emv79 Posts: 245 Member
    Options
    You'd have to be eating quite a lot of protein for it to be bad (unless you have kidney issues to begin with).
    How much protein are you eating now? What is your goal set at?
    Do you weight train/lift?

As a reference, I'm just shy of 5'10, 151lbs , I weight train 3 hours a week (spread on 4 days) and do cardio 6x week. I eat 1550cals (more when I workout) and I eat between 150g-170g in protein each day.
  • Glucocorticoid
    Options
    If you're implying that "quite a lot of protein" will cause kidney issues, that isn't true. A high protein intake is only a problem for folks with preexisting kidney issues.
  • JustPeachy044
    JustPeachy044 Posts: 770 Member
    Options
    I am doing a "bodyshaping" program and they actually recommended a 40% protein, 40% carb, 20% fat composition. i am usually over in fat everyday and a bit under in protein with that equation, but it is a good goal to strive for. MFP does not set your diet like that, so if you are using their settings and are over in protein, especially if you are exercising, you can probably consider the overage a good thing!
  • Glucocorticoid
    Options
    I am doing a "bodyshaping" program and they actually recommended a 40% protein, 40% carb, 20% fat composition. i am usually over in fat everyday and a bit under in protein with that equation, but it is a good goal to strive for. MFP does not set your diet like that, so if you are using their settings and are over in protein, especially if you are exercising, you can probably consider the overage a good thing!