RUNNERS: come here!

Options

Replies

• Il_DaniD_lI
    Il_DaniD_lI Posts: 1,593 Member
    Options
    My typical mile is 10 mins but can do 9 1/2 mins too.

ETA: running since January this year.
  • MissMollieD
    MissMollieD Posts: 130
    Options
    I've been running for like 4 or 5 years and the first mile sucks every single time. Whether I'm running 2 miles or 9 miles. The first mile sucks and it's all I can do not to just turn around and go home. :o)

My top speed in a 5K is 8:23/mile. My average is about 9:30/mile on just a lazy Saturday run.
  • Runnermadre
    Runnermadre Posts: 267 Member
    Options
    I just recently had a baby (a week ago), so I've been out of commission since sometime in September, but I can't wait to get back to it. When I was running all the time, a typical easy run for me was between 9:30 and 10 min/mile. My race times were closer to 8:30-9 min/mile. For me, it took a long time to start enjoying it. I always said I wasn't a runner, but decided to give it a go, and I dreaded every minute of it for the first 2-3 months. I remember gradually beginning to look forward to my runs and enjoying how I felt while doing them after that. That's when it first hit me, "I must be a runner now." So, yes, it gets easier and more enjoyable, but it takes time. :-)
  • BamaBreezeNSaltAire
    BamaBreezeNSaltAire Posts: 966 Member
    Options
    I've been running since 6th grade and I;m 38 now. Unfortunately I've gone from running just less than a 6 minute mile to about a 10 minute mile pushing a 25 pound 1 year old in a jogging stroller. Have no idea what I can do when she's not attached to me! Just keep at it and I'd have to think yes we all have feelings at some point of quitting but pushing through empowers me even more!!!! Pound the pavement, it's freedom on foot! :-)
  • redtim22
    redtim22 Posts: 144
    Options