Too many calories?

Options
Cedura
Cedura Posts: 184 Member
Usually MFP starts me around 1700 calories allowed for the day. Today I exercised a lot and realized I could eat like 2600 calories and still be below my calorie goal because I exercised. I am new to this website, and still trying to adjust to how a calorie counter works.
Am I supposed to eat all the extra calories? Is it ok if I have 600-800 calories left at the end of the day? I want to lose weight and even though I exercise, I feel eating close to 3000 allowed calories would be counter productive. Anyone have advice for how they use this system, or what seems to be working for them?

Replies

• Coco_UK
    Coco_UK Posts: 84 Member
    Options
    Hi there,

I am sorry I am no expert on this. but I would think too that 2600 calories a day (unless you are an athlete or on atkins) seem like a lot too Then again different things work for different people, there is a group in here which is reporting great success and they are eating larger amounts of kcals.... they are called Eat More to Loose More (EMTLM) I believe...

There are heaps of groups and information in this website... it trully is an amazing tool, I am sure that if you look around you will find the answer you need.

All the best!
    Coco :-)
  • Cedura
    Options
    Thanks, I will definitely look into that group and see what people are saying :) I have just always been told to lose weight you have to burn off more than you eat, so I would think that I wouldnt want to re-eat everything I burned off... but I dont know if by re-eating those calories it kick starts the metabolism or something... Im not a nutritionalist or anything, nor a fitness expert, so I am just a bit confused about how eating so much can be so healthy, even if it is all veggies and chicken haha.
  • Ronaldblue
    Ronaldblue Posts: 12 Member
    Options