Need help creating a home gym after horrible gym experience

Options
Sorry for the length! Today was a frustrating day!

I'm new to myfitnesspal and I’m posting for the first time to ask for some help making purchasing decisions. I’ve had lots of gym memberships in my life and usually my experience at the gym is relaxing and I get a great workout. Recently I moved to a small town in the middle of nowhere that only has one gym. Ever since signing up, I did not like this gym, but I had no choice because I don’t have the time and patience to drive 25 min away and back to the next nearest gym, 5-6 times a week. Issues I had with the gym were lack of space, no pool, no classes, old and worn out machines, and member etiquette problems not re-racking weights (I searched 10 minutes for the 20 lb dumbbells once, only to never find them – Yes, there I only 1 set of 20 lb dumbbells). I put up with all of this because of the low price per month and the lack of other choices.

Today ended up being the last straw, as my gym suddenly went out of business and was taken over by a new company. This gym, by the way, is a large and well-recognized chain, and it gave me NO WARNING about the fact that they were going to close 2 months after I signed first/last months, card fees, year-membership fees. New gym tells me to become a member, I have to pay all the fees again, totaling over $60 more dollars. When I called the first gym, they refused to acknowledge my membership and refused to refund any of my money. It was the last straw, and after 3 hours on the phone with several different company representatives, I went back to the gym and quit my membership rather then stay at a place that now only made me feel terrible to enter.