Jiggly Arms

I didn't know what else to title this.

I have been working on strengthening my arms for 4 months or so. I am considerably stronger than I was 4 months ago. Back then 8-10 lbs was "omg so heavy kill me now" and now I can lift 45lbs on the overhead press and 55lbs on the rower/rear delt. Perhaps I could do more but I ease my way into it and every couple of weeks, I add more weight.

Unfortunately, the underside of my arms (the triceps?) is still larger that I'd like, hangs down and jiggles. I don't know what to do to get rid of it, but I would rather not have surgery because money isn't so easy to come by and I don't know if it would be covered by my husbands insurance.

I don't want to be embarrassed to wear tank tops or a bathing suit, but I am.

Is there anything I can do to start rectify this using the strength training machines at the gym?

Replies

• ishtar13
    ishtar13 Posts: 528 Member
    The area would be your triceps. . .

Try push-ups (if you can't do a real push-up on the ground, try incline push-ups going lower as you get stronger until you're on the floor.)

If you insist on using machines for isolation instead of free weights*:

Chest press
    Triceps pull down/push down, depending on what your gym has.

Thing is, triceps balance the biceps, and you really should work them kind of together, so you may want to do some bicep curls, too.

*sorry, I just really prefer free weights to machines, having spent several years screwing around with machines and making no progress. . .
  • LilacDreamer
    LilacDreamer Posts: 1,364 Member

Try push-ups (if you can't do a real push-up on the ground, try incline push-ups going lower as you get stronger until you're on the floor.)

Chest press

Thing is, triceps balance the biceps, and you really should work them kind of together, so you may want to do some bicep curls, too.