Call me convinced: I'm going low carb

Options
The first time I ever heard about a low carb diet was about 20 years ago when I was at the WaWa with friend getting breakfast before class. I grabbed my coffee loaded with sugar and flavored creamer along with a banana and she grabbed two sausage and cheese biscuits and started pulling them apart to throw away the bread in the car--I thought she lost her mind when she told me about the Atkins diet. I even remember telling my mom about it later and laughing at the crazy stuff people will do to lose weight. And ever since I've heard anyone mention a low carb diet I remember that and dismiss it as a fad diet (my friend didn't stay with the diet for long which reinforced that impression). So I stuck to eating "right" and exercising and counting calories to lose weight. After all it works. I know it works, I've been doing it for twenty years.

But in the last 4 years my weight has spiraled out of control which isn't surprising considering the massive amount of soda and food I was eating, probably 3 to 5 thousand calories a day. So in January my husband and I made up our minds to do something about it and change the way we were living. We've eliminated all of the soda and junk food, are keeping the processed foods to a minimum and are eating a lot of fresh fruits, vegetables, lean meat, beans, brown rice and whole wheat bread and counting our calories of course. And we're happy with our progress so far, I've lost 42 pounds and my husband has lost over 60.