Guys - Any of you having trouble letting go of being "big"?

Options
So I've spent my adult life being big in one form or another. I graduated high school at 6' tall and 220 lean muscular pounds, my last year of college I was up to 252 very lean pounds. I even bodybuilded for a couple of years after that never over 15% bodyfat. Then life happened, injuries occurred, years passed, and my body transitioned to 251 pounds at over 20%bf. I then lost down to 195 pounds in 8 weeks. I felt healthier, could move better, and clothes fit me better, but I lost HUGE chunks of muscle mas in the process. My whole life I had self-identified with being "big", hell look at my screen name here (college nickname). I struggled with being "skinny". I felt so weak and felt like I couldn't identify with this "new me". Anyway, injuries and life happened again, and I gained back all the weight and then some.....up to 280 lbs at prob 30% bf. Now I've lost down to 235, and have put back on some of the muscle mass I lost. I need to lose like 30-40 more pounds, just to be healthy and active again, but sometimes I fear that feeling I had before when I was smaller. Weird huh? It's like I hate the way I look/feel now, but my mind/psyche/ego doesn't want to let go of the attention I got as the "big guy". Am I alone with this sensation? I wish like hell I could just let it go........

Replies

• DebbieMc3
    DebbieMc3 Posts: 289 Member
    Options
    Thank you for sharing this. I think a lot of people go through this but don't know how to communicate it.
    I "think" what you're feeling is very normal. It's like part of us dies and we need to mourne the loss but move on.
    it's a strange analagy but it's sort of like someone with long hair, cutting it off.
    I think you will find yourself before you know it. Don't look back!
    Debbie
  • BigWin20
    BigWin20 Posts: 45 Member
    Options