Replies

• rsmblue
    rsmblue Posts: 353 Member
    Options
    Can you work p/t at a bakery?

Maybe you can start your own business?! :happy:
  • TracySchroeder
    Options
    I'm a professional baker/cake decorator and understand where you're coming from. I bake ALL the time! I bake so much, though, that I can't stand to eat anything I bake!! LOL When I owned a bakery the thought of donuts, buttercream and cake made me sick to my stomach. BUT, others don't feel that way in my home. They eat and eat when I bake and have leftovers. So, I've changed how I bake. I've learned to make healthier options. And I scale my recipes down to only make one serving per person. This helps with food costs, too!!
  • elle18287
    elle18287 Posts: 267 Member
    Options
    Girl, I get it. Sometimes you just want to enjoy food and not think about anything else!
    Actually, your new diet is a wonderful opportunity for you to discover new recipes, even make new ones up. Start baking with whole grains.... there are so many cool options. Research the healthiest grains. Instead of sugar try Stevia? Instead of chocolate try all types of different fruits, fresh and dried. Look at this as a fun thing and create new fun recipes.
    Just because you are dieting doesn't mean your hobby should go out the window. There is nothing wrong with baked goods. Just make healthier ones and eat in moderation.
    Good luck! :)
  • ktsmom430
    ktsmom430 Posts: 1,100 Member
    Options
    Direct your love for baking towards cooking healthy meals for yourself and your family. I too love baking, and cooking too, and that is what I am doing.
    I will continue to bake treats at Christmas though. It is a tradition and we give a lot away anyway. I could never stop Christmas Baking. I will just not sample as much.
    It is sad :(
    But, getting healthy is worth it.
  • MissCheese
    MissCheese Posts: 195 Member
    Options