How to add protein to my diet.

Options
Hi guys,

im sure that this has been posted on here on numerous occassions. I am very new to this (today is day 2). i have noticed that i am very low on my protein intake, and im looking of ways to increas this intake without addiong too many calories. I have been top end of my calorie allowance, i know i need more protien as i am quite hungry most of the time- i am curbing this at the moment with water.

I know a good source of protein are shakes, however i cannot stomach them!

Thanks for your suggestions in advance.

Replies

• AmyRhubarb
    AmyRhubarb Posts: 6,890 Member
    Options
    Eggs, Greek yogurt, nuts & nut butters, cheese, cottage cheese, chicken, tuna - all good sources of protein. I had a hard time eating enough at first too - in fact logging my foods was a real eye-opener for me as I thought I was eating pretty well, but found I was way low on protein and too high in other areas.

My diary is open if you want to have a look - although I must say I haven't been the model of good eating lately with vacations, travel, birthdays, 4th of July, and summer in general. :tongue:
  • epmck11
    epmck11 Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    I eat between 170-200 grams of protein a day, and I get the bulk of my protein from chicken, fish, and Greek yogurt. Those are all high in protein and low in calories. You don't need protein shakes to get protein.
  • Hendrix7
    Hendrix7 Posts: 1,903 Member
    Options
    eggs
    chicken
    turkey
    fish
    red meat
    some dairy (check that the accompanying fat is within your macros also)

nuts are an over rated source of protein.
  • NoxDineen
    NoxDineen Posts: 497 Member
    Options
    You don't need protein shakes to get protein.