Running a 5K next weekend . . . tips please!

Options
I've been running for about 9 months and I know I can do the distance without a problem, but I've never officially ran a 5K. I'm doing my first this weekend and I'm pretty excited. What tips do you have for me? Specifically what to eat and what workouts to do this week. I run at least 3 miles several times a week, but I'm wondering if the people, crowd, and competition are going to make it harder for me to concentrate etc.

Replies

• jenronan1
    jenronan1 Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    I love running 5K's. First, what do you usually run the distance in/what's your pace? The reason I ask this: If you are pretty fast, don't put yourself in the back - you will be weaving in and out of people, which take a lot of energy. Also, I wear headphones because I am musically motivated. I have a playlist of my favorite upbeat songs, the fast beat helps me keep moving faster. Plus, it drowns out the other "noise" and I can concentrate on my race. Also, Monday or Tuesday run a 4 or 5 mile run, then start tapering by Wednesday to 1-2 miles.

As for food - eat clean. A little tip, there are foods such as spinach and beets that have an element in them called nitric oxide, which has been shown in studies to help athletes perform better. Theses are natural foods and I once did a triathalon where I ate a spinach salad the night before and eggs with spinach race day and I felt the best in this race.

Good luck!
  • Knoxvilla5
    Knoxvilla5 Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    That point about keeping from the back sounds REALLY helpful--I know I get agitated just from being NEXT to someone I don't know on the treadmill, and we have steel between us!

Good luck! You can do it!
  • emmymae22
    emmymae22 Posts: 206
    Options
    I just ran my first last month!! You'll have so much fun...I'm already looking for more to sign up for!