how long have you been or planning to count calories?

Options
I was just wondering for how long have you been counting calories/planning to continue counting calories?
Once we reach the “maintenance”stage? Or a few weeks-months after?
I like logging in my food and seeing how many calories I am eating (and what kind of calories!), but I’m thinking that at some point, I will need to stop? But when? I don’t want it to become an obsession with counting stuff, I want it to become a lifestyle…where I eat well and exercise, without logging in everything.
I know I am not ready for that yet, but curious to know for how long other people have been or planning to count their calories.

Thanks 

Replies

• omma_to_3
    omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
    Options
    Well, I've been doing this for 14 months now. I'm still a long way from maintenance, but I really don't see myself being able to abandon counting calories. Way too easy to overeat for me. I have to be diligent.
  • Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
    Options
    Off and on for about 12 years. Back then I used "fitday.com". I lost the 25LBS i needed to, and then kept counting for about a year. Then, once in a while if the scale crept up, I'd log again. This time I've been logging since about February, more focusing on fitness than calories.
    I plan to do it long term, off and on. When I need a tune up. This approach has worked for me so far. I've kept the 25LBS off.
  • CharityEaton
    CharityEaton Posts: 508
    Options
    I'm at my goal and still count. It comes and goes though. I slack off a bit here and there and then get back at it for a while. I like knowing exactly where I am. It helps me stay on track but I dont worry too much if I don't get to it. Especially on the weekends. I work hard all week and enjoy my weekends...it works for me!
  • RunHardBeStrong
    RunHardBeStrong Posts: 33,069 Member
    Options