Fad vs facts?

Options
Hi peeps.

Well, as stated in other posts, I am kind of new to the world of counting calories. I have tried dieting a few times but have just done my own thing, following a vague food pyramid and a bit of common sense. Exercise... i just use to do heaps of walking which worked really well for me, but four years ago i moved away from the city and i just don't have the time or need to walk everywhere anymore. So...

I have heard all these women at work go on about different things when they are trying to lose weight. I also hae a mum-in-law who can't let a minute go by without forcing her medical/health advice onto you. I have been taking everything with a grain of salt and sticking with common sense thus far, especially because i have had a number of friends with serious eating disorders, but i was wondering if you have any knowledge on the following:

1. I have been told these are effective weight loss foods/methods:
*No/Low carbs/high protein
* Dukan diet
* Soup diet
* Green tea
* Lemon in hot water in the morning speeds up your metabolism
* Almonds suppress your appetite
* Fruit has too much sugar and will hamper your weight loss efforts

2. Weight bearing exercise is good for weight loss and bone density

3. Cross trainer machines are much more effective than treadmill (if this is true, i am really confused, because 15 mins on a cross trainer set to level 8 is moderate to me, but 10 minutes of running almost kills me)

4. Zumba (heard mixed things about effectiveness)

Would love to know your thoughts

Cheers

Sherry Bobbins

Replies

• LoraF83
    LoraF83 Posts: 15,694 Member
    Options
    Here's my opinion: