Elliptical

Options
Hi all. I have a question about running and the elliptical. I am doing the couch to 5K thing but I loathe running outside. I have an elliptical that I just pulled up from the basement and am planning to use that instead of going outside. My question is, how different would it be using the elliptical to actual running? If I do the program as intended, only on the elliptical, will I be able to get out and actually run the 5K when I'm done or is it different? I would imagine getting my endurance up is the most important part, but are the movements and the training the same?

Thanks for the input.

Replies

• chicka200413
    Options
    I am no expert. But to me, they are REALLY different. I can only run for like 3 min at a slow pace, and on the elliptical I can go for over an hour.... at a pretty quick pace
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    The muscels get worked quite differently on the 2 machines. You may be able to go out and run the 5K that way but your time will most likely be much slower than what you get on the eliptical, and you will be much more sore the next day as the muscels get worked differently. If you are fine with that then go for it, taining for a 5k on the eliptical is better than not training at all.
  • abatres7
    Options
    elliptical is suppose to simulate the body in motion while running. Its lower impact on your knees etc...
  • ldbenincasa
    Options