Extreme exercise day - do you eat back the calories

Options
So I have been on here just long enough to realize that the controversy of "eating back your exercise calories" creates heated debate on MFP. This routine debate is not what I'm after.

However, one of my main goals is not to send my body into starvation mode. I pretty regularly eat 1600-1800 calories as a result, and have been seeing steady loss. Yesterday while wearing my HRM, I ended up burning ~1700 calories playing volleyball/soccer with friends. I usually eat back some/all of my exercise calories, but obviously I'm not going to eat an additional ~1700 calories. Do any of you nutrition experts out there have any advice? My net calories for the day were pretty much zero.

Is this unsafe? I still ate my normal amount of food...

Replies

• DeadMarsha
    DeadMarsha Posts: 203
    Options
    I am no expert, but I usually eat back most of my calories on regular workout days, and if I go all out and burn more than a couple hundred, I take advantage and eat BBQ ribs or something. ;) Alternatively, it's always nice to have a big fat green number on your diary at the end of the day, and it really can't hurt your efforts. But, if you are not hungry, you don't need to eat them back!
  • judith3horns
    Options
    I do not have an answer, but as a competition dancer I am really struggling with the same problem! Even when I eat above average for myself, I often do not eat back the calories on a competition day because it would require consuming mass amounts of food!
  • 47Jacqueline
    47Jacqueline Posts: 6,993 Member
    Options