Calorie Counting

I hope this is not a dumb question. Say for instance I loose 450 calories doing a workout in the day and it adds calories to the amount I can eat in a day. Should I make sure to eat those calories? Or does it not make a difference?

Replies

• yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    I hope this is not a dumb question. Say for instance I loose 450 calories doing a workout in the day and it adds calories to the amount I can eat in a day. Should I make sure to eat those calories? Or does it not make a difference?
    If the estimate is right and you eat them then you maintain the original calorie deficit built into your goal. If you don't the deficit gets bigger.
  • mommyweighless
    mommyweighless Posts: 192 Member
    I'm no expert and this is a super debated topic. It is recommended on MFP that you eat your exercise calories back. I always do. But some people swear you shouldn't. Its more of a personal choice I guess. Another thing to take into consideration is that MFP over estimates calorie burns. Use a HRM so that you know exactly what your burn is so that you aren't eating back more than you need to.
  • Loops2122
    Loops2122 Posts: 3
    Good question because I was thinking the same, because if I don't it says that I need to eat the allocated calories otherwise my body goes into starvation mode, but I am not hungry? Plus I have not lost any weight yet after nearly a full week ?
  • ndwyer0910
    ndwyer0910 Posts: 86 Member
    I'm no expert and this is a super debated topic. It is recommended on MFP that you eat your exercise calories back. I always do. But some people swear you shouldn't. Its more of a personal choice I guess. Another thing to take into consideration is that MFP over estimates calorie burns. Use a HRM so that you know exactly what your burn is so that you aren't eating back more than you need to.

What is URM?
  • nxd10
    nxd10 Posts: 4,570 Member

What is URM?