Is plastic surgery inevitable?

Options
I started MFP at 303 pounds. I've lost 27 so far, and I'm just wondering. When I make it to my goal, will I most likely need plastic surgery to remove excess skin? I mean losing 143 pounds is A LOT of weight. I'm 21, but I don't know if my "skin will snap back." Will working out with weights help this? If so does anyone have a program they can recommend?

Replies

• lizzyksm
    Options
    I have the same question...hopefully someone here can help us
  • czewwhat
    czewwhat Posts: 8,715
    Options
    I am not an expert, but I think so. Some major cities have burn centers and they are always looking for donated skin for burn victims. In some cases with a little careful research I have heard that they will pay for skin reduction surgery in return for the donated skin. Might be worth a few looks into what might be available in your city. I have heard of this more than once but don't really know what cities have these resources.
  • silvertears
    silvertears Posts: 106 Member
    Options
    I have the same concern - I want to lose 135 lbs. I have a friend that has lost over 100 lbs and she said that she does have some excess skin especially in her abdomen and her doctor told her to give it some time to see if it shrinks any but she may have to have a tummy tuck. I think it just depends on your body and your skin's elasticity. You're still young, so there is hope =)
  • Tamishumate
    Tamishumate Posts: 1,171 Member
    Options
    For me yes. Is it something I can avoid, HECK NO! :grumble: And my husband would not for one second think we should finance it either. I am down 130 pounds , I want to lose another 45 pounds. I have loose skin on my inner thighs, tummy, boobs, and arms. I dont see it bouncing back for me, considering I am 39 and have been really overweight since I Was 18. ITs just not going to happen.
    BUT , I look at it this way, Loose skin is a whole lot better than fat filled skin!!

Good luck! :drinker: