Muay Thai - Anyone Tried it Yet?

Options
The gym that I go to is now offering a class called Muay Thai. It's basically Thai Boxing. I was wondering if anyone has tried this class before? I wonder if its similar to kickboxing? It sounds interesting.

Replies

• sublimeonskunk
    Options
    My first post just to reply to this. I would recommend it to the max. I never get tired of it and its the best workout you've ever done. It is kickboxing, but with knees and elbows added.
  • Zamba74
    Zamba74 Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    I've been doing it for a few years and love it! So addictive. My classes are 2 hours: We start with 30 minutes of boot camp, then we do an hour of combos, then we do a 30 minute burn out ( like a boot camp). Muay Thai is different from kickboxing as you use 8 points of your body: fists, elbows, knees and kicks. What city are you in?
  • ilovedeadlifts
    ilovedeadlifts Posts: 2,923 Member
    Options
    My first post just to reply to this. I would recommend it to the max. I never get tired of it and its the best workout you've ever done. It is kickboxing, but with knees and elbows added.

it's kickboxing multiplied by awesome basically.
  • NoxDineen
    NoxDineen Posts: 497 Member
    Options
    I used to take private lessons from a friend of mine at a primarily karate dojo (my friend and his dad were senpai there). His dad also did Muay Thai and gave me a lesson, I threw up in a bucket halfway through.

I assume a class at a gym wouldn't be as lunatic intense, though. The crazy thing is, I was having so much fun I kept going after puking from exertion so... yeah.
  • wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    Yes. It's hard to find a real muay thai class.

Real muay thai focuses primarily on kicking, and includes a LOT of clinching maneuvers.

Most places teach american kickboxing + elbows/knees and call it Muay Thai.
  • leopard_barbie
    leopard_barbie Posts: 279 Member
    Options